Scholarship Awards Committee

Committee Charge: Make recommendations to the Board regarding selection of people to receive the various Foundation scholarships and awards in accordance with the Board approved guidelines for each scholarship and award. Annually, at annual meeting, review selection, award, and criteria for the Alpha Psi Foundation-Powell Grant Scholarships.

Michelle Ito, class of 2017 — Chair
Michael Clauser, class of 1976
Matt Dunn, class of 2011
Nam Nguyen, class of 2008
Niki Saqueton, class of 2013
Christian Ngo, class of 2013
Logan Brodnansky, class of 2017
Mike Trinh, class of 2017
Kevin Miller, class of 2019
Jennifer Ito, class of 2021

Leadership Development Committee

Committee Charge: Assure the development and execution of a yearlong program of leadership development programs and workshops for students and new professionals that focus on continuously developing their leadership skills.

Kristin Ward, class of 2014Chair

Collegiate Leadership Development Committee

Committee Charge: Develop and implement at least 1-2 workshops per year for Candidates and Actives with a goal of a minimum of 8 hours of training in basic leadership skills and develop a curriculum for training in more advanced leadership skills for Actives who have already taken the initial leadership training program.

Joseph Rosales, class of 2019 — Co-chair
Petrus Nguyen-Tu, class of 2020 — Co-chair
Jennifer Ito, class of 2021

New Practitioners Development Subcommittee

Committee Charge: Develop and implement 3-4 workshops per year for New Practitioners in their first 10 years of practice, with a goal of a minimum of 8 hours of training in more advanced leadership skills appropriate for professionals.

Angela Alfonso, class of 2014 — Chair
Vincent Lu, class of 2021

Fundraising Committee

Committee Charge: Facilitate and coordinate fundraising through the Contributions and Fundraising Subcommittee and the Stewardship Subcommittee. Also, coordinate all external communications with the Communications Committee.

An Chun Kwan, class of 2009 — Chair
Nam Nguyen, class of 2008 — Chair
Ed Larimer, class of 1969
Morgan Miyake, class of 2020
Petrus Nguyen-Tu, class of 2020

Stewardship Subcommittee

Committee Charge: Develop and implement a program that maintains periodic communications with all current and past donors for the purpose of maintaining their interest in and commitment to the Foundation.

Nam Nguyen, class of 2008Chair
Larry Gorham, CFO, class of 1967
Erika Cho Person, class of 2013
Megan Shimada, class of 2015
Mike Trinh, class of 2017

Contributions & Fundraising Subcommittee

Committee Charge: Develop and implement a program that solicits pledges and donations to the Foundation.

An Chun Kwan — Chair

Finance Committee

Committee Charge:
1. Monitor the Foundation’s quarterly and year-end financial reports, prepare and propose to the Board an annual budget and provide guidance to the CFO throughout the year.
2. Monitor and optimize the Foundation’s investments in conformance with the most current Investment Policy adopted by the Board, and by working closely with the Community Foundation of San Joaquin.
3. Develop proposals for income generating programs as needed to be considered by the Board.

Larry Gorham — Chair
Ralph Saroyan, class of 1964
Jon VanBoening, class of 1967
Ed Larimer, class of 1969
Michael Clauser, Assistant Treasurer, class of 1976
Jonathan Schmidt, class of 2013

Nomination Committee

Committee Charge: Nominate qualified candidates for election to the Board, and annually nominate Officers to serve for a one-year term.

Logan Brodnansky, class of 2017 — Chair
Michael Clauser, class of 1976
Michelle Ito, class of 2017
An Chun Kwan, class of 2009
Kristin Ward, class of 2014 

Communications Committee

Committee Charge: To generally oversee overall communications of the Foundation to all its stakeholders and various publics. It is NOT the intent to have the Communications Committee approve all communications, but to provide guidance where appropriate.

Ed Larimer, class of 1969 — Chair
Vice President
Newsletter Editor
Website Editor 

Newsletter Subcommittee

Committee Charge: Plan and implement a publication plan that assures at least quarterly publication of the Newsletter.  The content of the Newsletter should be information and articles that are timely and of interest to alumni and our donors, and that supports the fundraising efforts of the Foundation.

Lanni Lam — Chair

Michelle Nguyen, class of 2022

Website Manager

Charge: Assure that the website remains current, attractive and engaging as one of the most important communication vehicles for the Foundation.  The primary target audience for the website is Alpha Psi alumni.  The website is also intended to be a public repository of current and historical information about the Foundation.

Vivian Lee — Chair

Taylor Chan

Annual Senior Awards Banquet Task Force

Task Force Charge: Plan and conduct the APES&L Foundation Annual Senior Banquet held close to the time of graduation.  The focus of programming for the Banquet is on the importance of giving back, and to create a sense of obligation/commitment to support the Foundation among new graduates, and to encourage people to sign up for pledging monthly contributions to the Foundation.

Taylor Chan, class of 2021 — Chair
Alexis Hand, class of 2022
Kaitlyn Lehtola, class of 2022 

Alpha Psi Foundation

Creating tomorrow’s leaders through annual leader development programs, scholarships and awards.


The Foundation, a 501 (c) (3) tax exempt public benefit corporation, provides scholarships and leadership development for student pharmacists and new practitioners.


The Foundation aspires to be widely recognized for creating and developing tomorrow’s leaders in pharmacy, healthcare, and communities across the nation.


The Foundation embodies the belief that investing in the development of student pharmacists and new practitioners is an investment in improving the profession of pharmacy and health of our communities.